Massive Constituent, Community and Business Support for Secondary Suites in Calgary


Calgarians for Secondary Suites is a grassroots group dedicated to increasing the amount of legal secondary suites in Calgary. 

Since September 1, 2014, we have engaged Calgarians regarding Council’s current practice of considering individual suite applications one by one. The evidence is clear. There is unquestionable support from Calgarians for a better secondary suites process.

We identified more than 3,000 unique constituents from across the City who have either wrote a letter to City Council or signed our petition in support of secondary suites.

In addition, we received endorsements for Council action on secondary suites from more than 50 leading civic leaders, community organizations and businesses.

In the hundreds of letters sent to City Council, constituents have stressed the major benefits of secondary suites as a safe and market-driven solution for the housing affordability and availability crisis in Calgary.  More housing is needed now in order for Calgary’s economy to thrive and to compete for world-class talent. All other major Canadian municipalities permit secondary suites in all residential neighbourhoods.

On behalf of the thousands of identified supporters of secondary suites across the city, we ask Calgary City Council to support secondary suite reform.

-Calgarians for Secondary Suites

 Aboriginal_Friendship_Centre.jpeg Aboriginal Friendship Centre – Sandra Sutter, President
 Accessible_Housing.jpeg Accessible Housing – Jeff Dyer, Executive Director
 Action_to_end_poverty.jpeg Action to End Poverty in Alberta – Joe Ceci, Coordinator
 ACSW.jpeg Alberta College of Social Workers – Calgary Social Workers for Social Justice
 Alex.jpeg the Alex – Shelley Heartwell, CEO
 Bankview.jpeg Bankview Community Association
 Bishop_Henry.jpeg Bishop Frederick Henry
 brookfield_pic.jpg Brookfield Residential - Trent Edwards, COO
 Calgary_Arts_Dev.jpeg Calgary Arts Development – Patti Pon, President & CEO
CED.jpeg  Calgary Economic Development – Bruce Graham, President & CEO

Calgary Food Bank – James McAra, President & CEO


Calgary Herald Editorial Board


Canadian Home Builders’ Association - Calgary Region – Amie Blanchette, Director Government Affairs


Catholic Family Service – Patricia Jones, CEO


Catholic Diocese of Calgary


Catholic Women's League, St. Albert the Great Parish

 Calgary_Chamber.jpeg Calgary Chamber of Commerce – Adam Legge, President & CEO + Rob Hawley, Chair-Elect

Calgary Chamber of Voluntary Organizations – Geoff Braun, Director Policy & Research


Calgary Interfaith Council – Murray Nicholson


Cerebral Palsy Association in Alberta – Kimberley Matthews, Community & Government Relations Coordinator


Crackmacs, Mr + Mrs


Disability Action Hall


Donna Kennedy-Glans – Former Progressive Conservative MLA


George Brookman


Greg Clark – Calgary-Elbow MLA, Alberta Party Leader


Highland Park Community Association


Immigrant Sector Council of Calgary – Wendy Fehr, Director


James Gray


Kent Hehr – Former Calgary-Buffalo MLA, Federal Liberal Candidate for Calgary-Centre


Killarney Community Association


Leadership in Action – Students’ Association of Bow Valley College


Marda Loop Community Association

 Momentum.jpeg Momentum – Jeff Loomis, Executive Director
 National_Post.jpg National Post Editorial Board
 Poverty_Talks_Logo.jpg Poverty Talks
 AB_NDP.jpeg Rachel Notley – Premier of Alberta, NDP Leader

Redline Real Estate Group – Brett Turner, Broker/Owner


SAIT Students' Association


Scott McGillivray – Host of HGTV’s Income Property

 Servants_Anonymous.jpeg Servants Anonymous Society – Theresa Jenkins, Executive Director
 Steve_Allan.jpeg Steve Allan
 Strategic.jpeg Strategic Group – Ken Toews, VP Development
 SAMRU.jpeg Students’ Association of Mount Royal University
 Thorncliff.jpeg Thorncliffe Greenview Community Association

Thrive – Carolyn Davis, Community Relations Director


University of Calgary Students’ Union

 United_Way.jpeg United Way of Calgary – Lucy Miller, President & CEO + Joe Lougheed, Chair Public Policy Committee
 UCSA.jpeg Urban Calgary Students’ Association
 UDI.jpeg Urban Development Institute - Calgary – Guy Huntingford CEO

Vecova Centre – Joan Lee, Chief Executive Officer

 VCC.jpeg Vibrant Communities Calgary – Franco Savoia, Director + Joe Ceci, Chair
 Womens_Centre.jpeg the Women’s Centre – Jana Lait, Board Chair + Susan Gillies, Executive Director
 YWCA.jpeg YWCA Calgary – Sue Tomney, CEO


Help us make the crucial December 15th City Council vote on Secondary Suites a success - take action today!